Diatonic Scale Introduction

Introduction to the Diatonic Scale

The Diatonic scale is also known as the major scale and the (natural) minor scale.
The diatonic scale contains seven notes. It is a popular misconception that “diatonic” means seven notes. Actually, heptatonic means seven notes! The term diatonic has a fairly complicated history that we won’t get into. The easiest way to think of it is according to these terms:


The diatonic scale is nothing more than these seven notes mapped out across your entire guitar.

For ease of communication, the ESG method for learning guitar has assigned a name to each of the five basic scale shapes.

How to read the Charts? click here

Check out these related posts:
Diatonic Scale & Pentatonic Scale


Want to stay in the loop as an ESG subscriber? Leave your email here.
(I won’t spam you, resell your information, or contact you for any other reason. That’s my promise to you.)

If you feel like you have learned something, please consider hitting the Donate button! Also be sure to check out the ESG Shop for cool stuff and helpful learning materials.

Feel free to leave feedback or questions about this post below.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.